Your Comments Wanted

Im writing a persuasive essay on why insurance company’s should cover infertility diagnosis and treatments. 

 If you could write to your insurance company and give them one reason why they should cover your treatments, What would it be?

Also if you could educate others on how infertility has affected your life what would you say?

Thanks for your comments 😀 

Published in: on February 17, 2008 at 9:12 pm  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://vanessasbackinthesaddleagain.wordpress.com/2008/02/17/help/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Check on the Resolve website. There was an article there that said a study had shown that it did not cost employers to add infertility coverage. I haven’t had time to read the whole article, so I’m not sure why this is the case. It depends on the situation whether it is up to the employer or the insurance company to cover IF treatments.

    Personally, if I were arguing this I would note that the financial strain forces people into rushing into procedures that may not make sense (wasting money on IUI’s because it is cheaper when it might make sense to go straight to IVF). It also causes an emotional toll that may compromise our health in general. From the employer’s perspective, I would argue that happy employees are productive employees. IF makes people VERY unhappy and having to pay for treatments out of pocket adds to the stress and unhappiness.

  2. Hi – This is my first time seeing your site, but I thought I would add in on the insurance issue. One of the biggest advantages you could argue is the positive physical effects pregnancy has for women – physically and emotionally. Physically, women are less likely to have all kinds of different cancers if they have conceived and carried a child to term. There are lots of stats out there that list benefit of pregnancy!

  3. If I were arguing this point, I would address it from the standpoint that a lot of the time, there is an underlying medical reason that causes IF. Even if it’s that the sperm and the egg don’t meet because of chemistry–there are always medical reasons. Being that that is the case, why would they deny a person the right to treat their medical needs?

    That is just my thought on it. That and the whole idea that having a child is not a lifestyle choice like most insurance companies will argue.

    Hope this helps! 🙂

  4. I just want to say,Thanks for any comments that come my way. I have done a lot of research on this subject, and feel like im ready to argue about it with the best of them 😉

    The reason I asked was, I thought it would be nice to have other real life people affected by IF comment on why they think IF insurance coverage is important. Instead of just statistics 😀

    So thanks again

  5. Sounds like you have great comments there! Also, why does insurance pay for Vi*gra and stuff like that. That is an elective type choice… which is why alot of people say they don’t pay for IVF or other fertility because it is elective! I found this off another’s blog:

    1. I was told our IF expenses were not covered because it was a “lifestyle choice” to want children. If that is the case, why then are the people who are successful with that “choice” have coverage for their pre-natal, delivery, and subsquent pedriatic care? Is is that not discrimination?

    Good luck with your research! I would love to hear about it when you are done.

    I know IF affected our life… we were lucky enough to have the funds to do IVF… but it is still VERY exepensive.

  6. I would tell them that it is a medical condition and, therefore, it needs to be covered. Period. I would also point out that by not treating the infertiltiy, they are going to have to treat people for depression.

  7. Sorry, just catching up on my reading. 🙂

    I would tell them that ART should be covered because couples are being forced to make decisions based on their pocketbook, not on the advice of their physicians. For example, many women forgo IVF because it is too expensive, opting for IUIs with follicle stimulating drugs that can result in high order multiples. In the end, which will cost the insurance industry more: a few cycles of IVF or months of NICU care for the quads or quints born of high levels of fertility meds?

    I’m working with a group in my state (MN) to get a bill passed this year. Really exciting stuff!!

  8. Very good and useful post.
    Thx, your blog in my RSS reader now 😉


Leave a Reply

